Study Guide for Photoshop Exam

0.0(0)
Studied by 1 person
call kaiCall Kai
learnLearn
examPractice Test
spaced repetitionSpaced Repetition
heart puzzleMatch
flashcardsFlashcards
GameKnowt Play
Card Sorting

1/50

encourage image

There's no tags or description

Looks like no tags are added yet.

51 Terms

1
New cards

Tracking

Is used to change the spacing between all characters in a block of text

2
New cards

A (1)_ file is unprocessed and contains more data than a standard (2)_ file

RAW(1) JPEG(2)

3
New cards

In the beginning of the visual design process, it's important to work closely with your client. Which of the following methods is a good way to quickly explore creative options and ensure you are creating something the client is happy?

Make rough sketches

4
New cards

From the following choices, select the best definition for typography.

The art and design of arranging type when choosing a font, font style, and color

5
New cards

You are getting dozens of images ready to be published on the web, and you need to make sure they are in the correct color mode and the correct color mode and the correct size while still maintaining the same ratio. Recording an Action will be the quickest way to make changes to all the images. Which of the following steps should you include in your Action? (Choose two)

Use RGB color mode

6
New cards

Which path would you follow to add new colors to an existing swatch library?

Window > Swatches

7
New cards

Since you are working with photographs you received from the client, you don't want any editing changes to be permanent. What type of editing would you use if you wanted to preserve the original image data?

Non-destructive editing

8
New cards

When applying a filter to a text layer, how can you ensure that the type's editability is not lost?

Convert the type layer into a smart object

9
New cards

You are editing a photo, and one of the trees in the landscape would balance the composition better if it were farther to the right side of the frame. Which of the following features would be the most effective to move the tree to the right side of the image?

Content

10
New cards

From the following options, which two are benefits of using a Linked Smart Object in Photoshop? (Choose two)

The ability for the Smart Object to be automatically updated if the source file is changed

11
New cards

Which two options correctly describe a raster or bitmap image? (Choose two)

Represented by pixels in a grid layout

12
New cards

Create a new image that has a width of 1094 px and a height of 672 px and name it Pamphlet. Accept all other default settings.

Click the File menu and press New> Change the Height and Width>Save as a Preset ( it looks like an arrow and an envelope together and click on it )> In the File Name type Pamphlet and click Create

13
New cards

Kerning

Is the spacing between specific pairs of characters

14
New cards

Leading

Is the distance between each line of text

15
New cards

To increase the readability of the brochure, change the tracking on the word Horizon to 10.

Open the Layers panel (Window>Layers)>Select the text layer>Open the Character panel (Window>Character) and click on the Tracking drop down and choose 10

Change the font of the word Café to be Verdana with a size of 80 pt.

Click Layers (Window>Layer)>Select the text layer with Cafe>Click the Character panel (Window>Character)> Click the Font dropdown and choose Verdana> Click the Font size drop

16
New cards

Create a new document made for HDV/HDTV 720p video. Name the document Movie. Accept all other default settings.

Click the File menu and select New> Select Film & Video and select HDV/HDTV 720p> Type Movie in the Document name

In print settings, ensure that the Color Handling option is set to Photoshop Manages Colors. Accept all other default settings.

Click the File menu and select Print> Set the to Photoshop Manages Colors in the Color Handling option> Click OK

17
New cards

Export only the layer with the Lemon image to be used as a background for the website. Export it as a JPG file and name it Lemon_Background. Accept all other default settings.

Select the Lemon image Layer (Window>Layers>Lemon image Layer)>Click the Layer menu and select Export As> In the Export As Window, change the file type to JPG and click Export> In the Export window, type Lemon_Background for the file name and click Save

18
New cards

Use the Styles preset options to change the Circles layer image to use the Blue Glass (Button) style.

Select the layer with the pink circle>Open the Styles panel (Window>Styles)>Select the Blue Glass (Button) style

19
New cards

Load the selection called Fruit to create a layer mask that hides everything except the selection

Click the Select menu and choose Load Selection> In the Load Selection dialog box, click the drop down next to Channel and select Fruit. Then click OK> In the Layer menu, hover over to the Layer Mask and click the Reveal Selection

Add a new Hue/Saturation adjustment layer. Give it the following values:

Hue: 100

Saturation: 0

Lightness: 0

Toggle the layer to not be visible.

20
New cards

Select the Adjustments Layer (Window>Adjustments)>Select the Hue/Saturation adjustment layer>Enter

100 for the Hue value and press Enter>Toggle the layer to not be visible (Click on the eye icon (Toggle the layer to not be visible)

Unhide the Icon layer and give it a Blend Mode of Multiply


21
New cards

Press the eye to Unhide the Icon Layer> Click the Layers panel> Click on the Icon Layer> Click on the icon that has three horizontal lines of the Layers panel and select Blending Mode> Blending Mode: Multiply> Click OK

22
New cards

Change the grid lines to Dashed with Gridline Every 64 Pixels and 1 Subdivision. Show the Grid if it is not already showing.

Press Ctrl+K to open the Preferences window> On the left side, select the tab for Guides, Grid, and Slices> Under the Grid section in the dropdown, select the Dashed line> Make sure the Gridline is set to Every 64 Pixels and Subdivisions are set to 1

23
New cards

Select Yes if the statement is a valid use of the Lasso Tool. Otherwise, select No. To remove a selected area from an image.

Yes

24
New cards

Select Yes if the statement is a valid use of the Lasso Tool. Otherwise, select No. To group objects from separate layers together.

No

25
New cards

Select Yes if the statement is a valid use of the Lasso Tool. Otherwise, select No. To make a selection and use content aware fill.

26
New cards

Select Yes if the statement is a valid use of the Lasso Tool. Otherwise, select No. To make a non geometric selection.

Yes

27
New cards

Change the opacity of the Circles layer to 60%and change the blending mode to be Hard Light.

Select the layer named Circles (Window>Layers)> At the top of the Layers panel, change the opacity to 60%> Click the layer blending mode dropdown and select Hard Light

Set the units of measure to pixels for the Rulers.

Click View and select Rulers> Right click on the ruler and choose pixels

28
New cards

Create a new brush to work with a drawing tablet. Give it a size of 19 px, adjust the Size Jitter to 25%, adjust the Angle Jitter to 30% in the Shape Dynamics, and name it TabletBrush

Click the Brush Tool in the left tool panel> In the Application Bar along the top, change the size of the brush to be 19px> Open the Brush Settings panel on the right (Window>Brush Settings) and click on Shape Dynamics under Brush Tip Shape> Change Size Jitter to 25% and Angle Jitter to 30%> Open the the Brushes Panel ( Window> Brushes) and click on click on the Create New Brush icon on the bottom right of the panel window.> Type TabletBrush in name box, leave all other default settings, and click OK.

29
New cards

Use the Crop Tool to straighten the image using the ocean horizon as a guide.

Select the Crop Tool from the Tool Box on the left.> In the Control Bar along the top, click the little icon (Looks like a purse) next to the word Straighten.> Click and drag a line across the image using the ocean horizon as a guide.> Press Enter.

Skew the Circles image in the document by giving it a horizontal skew of 2 and a vertical skew of 10.

Skew the Circles image in the document by giving it a horizontal skew of 2 and a vertical skew of 10.> Select the Circles layer.> Click the Edit Menu and hover over Transform.> Then select Skew.> In the Control Bar along the top, change the Horizontal to 2 and the Vertical to 10.> Press Enter twice.

30
New cards

Apply a non-destructive Curves adjustment to the image using the Color Negative (RGB)preset.

In the Adjustments panel on the right, create a new Curves Adjustment Layer by clicking the Curves icon.> Click the dropdown next to Preset and change it to Color Negative (RGB).

Use the Lasso Tool and Content Aware Fill command to remove the balloon from the sky.


31
New cards

Select the Lasso Tool from the Tool Box on the left and use it to draw around the balloon in the sky.> Click the Edit Menu and select Fill…Under Contents, make sure it says Content

Aware, and then click OK.

32
New cards

To finish creating a design for the webpage, use one shape to cut away part of the other. > Create a 700 pixel by 700 pixel square shape that cuts away the thin white rectangle on the left side of the document. > Create the new square shape from the center of the white rectangle.

33
New cards

Select the Rectangle 1 layer, and then select the Rectangle Tool in the left Tool bar. > In the Option Bar along the top of the UI, select the Path Operations dropdown and choose Subract Front Shape. > Click anywhere on the thin, white rectangle shape on the left side of the document. > In the Create Rectangle dialog box, type 700 px for the height and 700 px for the width. > Click the checkbox that says From Center to ensure the new shape is created from the center of the rectangle. > Click OK.

34
New cards

Create a new group titled Text, and place the two text layers in the group.

35
New cards

Click on the Create a new group… icon at the bottom of the layers panel. > Double

click the text on the group layer to edit the name. > Rename the Group 1 folder to be Text and press Enter or click off the layer to commit the change. > Hold Shift to select both text layers and drag them up into the new Group layer.

36
New cards

Add the text Macro to the right side of the image, underneath the camera image. Use the font Verdana and make it 25 pt. Apply an Arc text warp with a

25% bend. Accept all other default settings.

37
New cards

Select the Horizontal Type tool in the left tool panel. > Point and click on the right side of the image, beneath the logo. > Type Macro and then select the text to highlight it. > On the Options panel, change the font to Verdana and the size to 25 pt. > On the Options panel, click the Create Warped Text icon. >Select Arc from the Style dropdown. > Change the Bend value to

25%. > Click OK.

38
New cards

As you edit photos for your client's magazine, it is important to understand which types of editing are destructive and which types are non

destructive. Match the appropriate editing method to the scenarios below.

39
New cards

NON

DESTRUCTIVE EDITING

40
New cards

DESTRUCTIVE EDITING

Making Adjustments Using the Image & Using the Clone Stamp Tool

41
New cards

Export a 50% quality JPG of the horizon image. Give it a width of 480 px and height of 270 px. Accept all other defaults and save the image to the default location.

42
New cards

Click the File menu. > Under the Export section, select Export As… > Change the Format dropdown to JPG. > Change the quality to 50%. > Change the width to 480 px and the height to 270 px. > Leave all other default settings and click Export All… > Leave the default name and click Save. (On a Mac, click Export.)

43
New cards

Drag each Creative Commons license type to its corresponding description.

44
New cards

Attribution (BY): You may use the work only if you give the author credit. (man bathroom icon)

45
New cards

Share

alike (SA): You may distribute derivative works only under a license identical to (not more restrictive than) the license that governs the original work.

46
New cards

(circle arrow sign)

Non

47
New cards

No Derivative Works (ND): You may only use exact copies of the work, not derivative works and remixes based on it. (equal sign)

48
New cards

Using the below image, match each layer type with its correct description.

Type Layer, Layer Mask, Shape, Locked Layer

49
New cards

Which of the following is not a phase involved in a project plan?

Budget Discussion

50
New cards

Which option is not a factor when determining which kind of images to include in your project for a target audience?

Your own stylistic preference

51
New cards

During the process of interacting with your client, which of the following would be deliverables you will need to provide as you work through the project? (Choose two)

Design comps & Project specifications