Pro Tools 101 Exam

0.0(0)
Studied by 0 people
call kaiCall Kai
learnLearn
examPractice Test
spaced repetitionSpaced Repetition
heart puzzleMatch
flashcardsFlashcards
GameKnowt Play
Card Sorting

1/139

encourage image

There's no tags or description

Looks like no tags are added yet.

Last updated 4:08 PM on 10/16/26
Name
Mastery
Learn
Test
Matching
Spaced
Call with Kai
Chat

No analytics yet

Send a link to your students to track their progress

140 Terms

1
New cards

Which of the following connection types can be used for DIGITAL transfers?

S/PDIF, AES/EBU

2
New cards

The frequency range of human hearing is generally accepted to be between _________.

20Hz and 20,000Hz

3
New cards

The word "frequency" refers to the ___________ of a sound.

pitch

4
New cards

To record an audio signal into Pro Tools, the signal must be converted into binary information that can be stored, read, and manipulated by a computer. This process is called:

analog to digital conversion

5
New cards

The differences between a standard Pro Tools "Studio" type of system with a USB interface and a Pro Tools|HDX or Ultimate system with dedicated DSP hardware include:

Standard host based systems are host-based, ProTools|HDX systems are not.

6
New cards

How is frequency measured?

Hz / kHz

7
New cards

What Windows/PC shortcut modifier is equivalent to the Mac's OPTION key?

Alt

8
New cards

What Windows/PC shortcut modifier is equivalent to the Mac's SHIFT key?

Shift

9
New cards

What Windows/PC shortcut modifier is equivalent to the Mac's COMMAND key?

Control

10
New cards

What Windows/PC shortcut modifier is equivalent to the Mac's CONTROL key?

Start

11
New cards

True or False: It's best to have dual hard drives and multi-core processors on a computer system when working with digital audio.

True

12
New cards

True or False: D/A converters, A/D converters, and mic preamps are built into audio interfaces.

True

13
New cards

True/False: Powered Nearfield Monitors are the best speakers for small home studios.

Correct!

True

14
New cards

True or False: A microphone with a 1/4" connector and an on/off switch is a professional-grade microphone.

False

15
New cards

True or False: A power conditioner is (or should be) an essential component of your DAW.

True

16
New cards

What is another name for a standard microphone cable/connection?

XLR

17
New cards

What is the name for the latest type of USB connection that Apple now uses for their Thunderbolt 3 protocol?

USB-C

18
New cards

True/False: Cat5 cabling is now being used for digital audio transmission and recording.

True

19
New cards

Check all of the production tasks that Pro Tools can be used for:

Audio Processing

MIDI Production

Notation and Scores

Mixing and Automation

Audio for Video & Post-Production

20
New cards

What is the name of the law that specifies the relationship between sample rate and audio frequency?

Nyquist's Theorum

21
New cards

For every 1 bit increase in bit depth, you gain how much dynamic range?

6dB

22
New cards

What audio interfaces listed below are compatible with a standard Pro Tools "Studio" system? (check all that apply)

Motu M4

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Mackie Onyx 2x2

SSL 2+

23
New cards

What audio interfaces below are compatible with Pro Tools|Ultimate systems?

ProTools HD| OMNI

ProTools HD| MADI

ProTools HD| I/O

ProTools| MTRX

24
New cards

Why is the sample rate of a digital recording important?

C. It determines the range of frequencies that can be captured in the recording.

D. It affects the file size of the recorded file.

25
New cards

The maximum dynamic range of 16-bit audio is:

96dB

26
New cards

What unit measurement is used to indicate the amplitude of a sound?

Decibels

27
New cards

Which companies have played a role in developing ProTools software?

B. Digidesign

C. Avid Technology

28
New cards

When turning on the devices in your system, which device should be turned on last?

Monitor Speakers

29
New cards

The __________ window displays MIDI and automation data for Aux Input tracks, Instrument tracks, and MIDI tracks.

MIDI Editor

30
New cards

Which of the following files stores waveform display data for the audio in a Pro Tools session, enabling the session to open more quickly?

the WaveCache file

31
New cards

The "Bounced Files" folder in your Pro Tools session folder is:

The default location for files created by the ProTools Bounce to Disk function.

32
New cards

Which of the following is used to authorize Pro Tools software (and to store plug-in licenses) and must be present for Pro Tools to run?

An iLok USB smart key

33
New cards

Where is the Pro Tools session file (.ptx) automatically stored when you create a Pro Tools session?

inside the session folder

34
New cards

True or False: If the WaveCache file is deleted or goes missing, you will no longer be able to open your Pro Tools session.

False

35
New cards

True or False: When you use the Pro Tools "View Menu" or "Options Menu," you will always be checking items on and off. (Choosing items from these two menus will never open a secondary/floating window.)

True

36
New cards

True or False: When you select items in Pro Tools' "Setup Menu," a secondary floating window will always open on the screen.

True

37
New cards

In what menu do you find Edit Window Scrolling Options?

Options

38
New cards

Where do you go to change the Hardware Buffer Size setting?

Setup menu > Playback Engine

39
New cards

Which main Pro Tools window displays audio waveforms and can be used to work directly with audio, MIDI, and video files on tracks?

Edit Window

40
New cards

Which ProTools window provides access to Pan controls and Volume Faders for each track?

Mix Window

41
New cards

Refer to the image.

the window shown in the screenshot is... Edit Window

the area labeled B across the top is... Toolbar

the area labeled B on the sides are known as... Side Columns

the buttons labeled C at the top are... Edit Tools

the controls labeled D on the top-right are commonly known as... Transport Controls

<p>the window shown in the screenshot is... Edit Window</p><p>the area labeled B across the top is... Toolbar</p><p>the area labeled B on the sides are known as... Side Columns</p><p>the buttons labeled C at the top are... Edit Tools</p><p>the controls labeled D on the top-right are commonly known as... Transport Controls</p>
42
New cards

Refer to the image.

the window shown is... Mix Window

the signal routing controls labeled A at the top of the window are... insert selectors

the signal routing controls labeled B toward the top of the window are... Send selectors

the signal routing control labeled C in the middle of the window is the... input selector

the signal routing control labeled D in the middle of the window is the... output selector

the control labeled E in the middle of the window is the... automation selector

the slider labeled F at the bottom of the window is the ____ for the track... volume fader

<p>the window shown is... Mix Window</p><p>the signal routing controls labeled A at the top of the window are... insert selectors</p><p>the signal routing controls labeled B toward the top of the window are... Send selectors</p><p>the signal routing control labeled C in the middle of the window is the... input selector</p><p>the signal routing control labeled D in the middle of the window is the... output selector</p><p>the control labeled E in the middle of the window is the... automation selector</p><p>the slider labeled F at the bottom of the window is the ____ for the track... volume fader</p>
43
New cards

Refer to the image.

the window shown is called the... Transport Window

the controls labeled A on the left side of the window are commonly known as... Transport controls

the are labeled B in the middle of the window displays the... Counter

the controls labeled C on the right side of the window are part of the... MIDI controls

<p>the window shown is called the... Transport Window</p><p>the controls labeled A on the left side of the window are commonly known as... Transport controls</p><p>the are labeled B in the middle of the window displays the... Counter</p><p>the controls labeled C on the right side of the window are part of the... MIDI controls</p>
44
New cards

What dialog box lets you choose the audio device to use for Pro Tools playback/recording (such as a USB microphone, an audio interface, or your computer's built-in speakers)?

The Playback Engine dialog box

45
New cards

The Transport window can be accessed from the ____ menu.

Window

46
New cards

What is the purpose of the Session File Backups folder inside the Pro Tools session folder?

Stores session backup files created by the Auto Backup function

47
New cards

When working in a session document, where are recorded audio files stored by default?

inside the Audio Files folder

48
New cards

Which of the following is affected by the Hardware Buffer Size setting?

Monitoring latency during recording on Native systems

49
New cards

The __________ window lets you view, edit, arrange, and print MIDI data as music notation.

Score Editor

50
New cards

Which of the following steps takes place when you create a Pro Tools session?

A. the system creates a top-level session folder and various subfolders.

C. The system creates a session file with a .ptx extension.

51
New cards

Which of the following types of operations can be found under the View menu in Pro Tools?

Commands that affect parts of a window, such as showing or hiding a view in the Edit window.

52
New cards

Which of the following functions are available under the Edit menu in Pro Tools?

Cut, Copy and Paste

53
New cards

How can you quickly zoom out to get a full track view that fills the Edit window with the longest visible track in the session?

Double-click on the Zoomer tool

54
New cards

Refer to the image.The currently selected Edit tool is called:

The Trim tool

<p>The Trim tool</p>
55
New cards

Refer to the image.The currently selected Edit tool is called:

the Grabber tool

<p>the Grabber tool</p>
56
New cards

Refer to the image.

The currently selected Edit tool is called:

the Selector tool

<p>the Selector tool</p>
57
New cards

Which Edit mode should you use if you want to place a clip by specifying a precise numeric location in a dialog box (as shown below)?

Spot

58
New cards

True or False: The only way to completely zoom out and reset both the vertical and horizontal zoom of your session is by double-clicking on the zoom tool button.

True

59
New cards

What tool can select an entire audio clip with one click?

Grabber Tool

60
New cards

Refer to the image.

the button labeled A

trim tool

the button labeled B selector tool

the button labeled C grabber tool

<p>the button labeled A</p><p>trim tool</p><p>the button labeled B selector tool</p><p>the button labeled C grabber tool</p>
61
New cards

Refer to the image. The combo button labeled A is called the _______ tool.

Smart

<p>Smart</p>
62
New cards

Refer to the image.

the button labeled A

wait for note

the button labeled B

metronome

the button labeled C MIDI merge

the button labeled D tempo ruler enable

63
New cards

In what menu will you find access to Click/Countoff options?

Setup

64
New cards

Which Edit mode should you use if you want the clip start to "snap" to Grid boundaries (as shown below)?

Absolute Grid

65
New cards

Which of the following is a type of Ruler available in Pro Tools?

Bars|Beats

Min:Secs

Timecode

66
New cards

Refer to the image. What is the purpose of the Metronome button in the MIDI Controls section of the Transport window?

To turn the click on or off

<p>To turn the click on or off</p>
67
New cards

Which of the following methods can be used to hide a ruler in the Edit window?

Choose View > Rulers > Hide and select a checked ruler

Option-click (Mac) or Alt-Click (Windows) on a ruler name in the Timeline display area

68
New cards

TRUE or FALSE? The Sub Time Scale determines the timebase units used in the Start, End, and Length fields in the Edit window.

False

<p>False</p>
69
New cards

Refer to the image. What is the indicated selector used for?

Setting the grid value.

70
New cards

Refer to the image. Which Edit mode should you use if you want clips to swap positions on a track when dragged on top of one another, without overlapping?

Shuffle

<p>Shuffle</p>
71
New cards

The Workspace Browser can be used to do which of the following:

Locate and open a session

72
New cards

TRUE or FALSE? The Main Time Scale determines the timebase units used in the Main Counter in the Edit window.

True

<p>True</p>
73
New cards

Which of the following is NOT a type of ruler?

Comments

74
New cards

TRUE or FALSE:

Pro Tools allows you to add audio tracks to your session after you create the session.

TRUE

75
New cards

TRUE or FALSE:

The "Track Delete" command can be reversed by choosing Edit > Undo.

FALSE

76
New cards

Which of the following is a type of cursor available in the Edit window?

Playback Cursor

Edit cursor

77
New cards

The Workspace Browser can be used to do which of the following:

Locate and open a session

Import audio to a session

78
New cards

Refer to the image.When enabled, the Link Timeline and Edit Selection option (outlined in red) does which of the following:

Links the Playback and Edit cursors

<p>Links the Playback and Edit cursors</p>
79
New cards

Pro Tools supports recording at bit depths up to:

32-bit floating point

80
New cards

The Dashboard in Pro Tools allows you to:

Open and existing session or create a new one

81
New cards

Pro Tools supports recording at sample rates up to ______ with a compatible audio interface.

192kHz

82
New cards

What actions can be initiated from the Dashboard? Check all that apply!

Create a new blank session on local storage

Create a new blank project, with or without cloud backup

Create a new session or project from a template

Open a session or project from a list of recently opened Pro Tools documents

Open a project that you created or are a collaborator on.

Open a session from a connected storage location on your system

83
New cards

What are some available options for the Session Parameter settings in the Pro Tools Dashboard? Check all that apply!

Audio File Type

Bit Depth

Sample Rate

I/O Settings

84
New cards

What audio file types are NATIVE to Pro Tools? (In other words, what audio file types can you choose as a session parameter when you start a new session?)(Check all that apply!)

.wav

.aiff

85
New cards

What is the default audio file type in Pro Tools on both Mac & Windows systems?

.wav

86
New cards

Under what menu can you find the command that lets you add a track to your session?

Track

87
New cards

Check all of the different types of tracks that are supported in Pro Tools software:

mono audio

stereo audio

MIDI

Auxiliary Input (aux)

Instrument

Video (only one in Pro Tools, additional in |HD)

VCA

Master Fader

Basic Folder

Routing Folder

88
New cards

True or False: The Playback Cursor "Locator" (tiny blue arrow) appears in your main timescale ruler.

True

89
New cards

This "save" command is useful for saving a copy of the current session under a different name or in a different hard drive location. It does not allow for saving a "complete" session that includes audio files - it links to the original session's audio files.

Save as

90
New cards

True or False: You can open a Pro Tools session from the Workspace Browser by double-clicking on it.

True

91
New cards

What feature needs to be engaged to link the Playback & Edit cursors in Pro Tools?

Link Timeline & Edit Selection

92
New cards

What tool can be used to set the playback point by clicking directly on a track, creating an insertion point?

Selector

93
New cards

How can you change a track name in Pro Tools? (There are actually more ways than this, but this is the one they want you to know for the exam.)

Double-click on the track name in the Edit window or Mix window

94
New cards

Which of the following are types of Folder tracks?

A. basic folders

B. Routing folders

95
New cards

Which of the following is a function of the Save As command?

To save a local session document under a different name

96
New cards

Refer to the image. The Rulers area highlighted with a dark overlay is called:

A timeline selection

97
New cards

How can you open a session that you've located with a Workspace browser?

Double-click on the session file displayed in the Workspace browser

98
New cards

To deselect all selected tracks in Pro Tools, hold ________ while clicking on the nameplate of one of the selected tracks.

Option (Mac) or Alt (Windows)

99
New cards

Which is an advantage of a Pro Tools Project compared to a Pro Tools Session?

Projects can use cloud backup to protect your work against loss in the event of drive failure

Projects run faster and use less CPU than Sessions

100
New cards

When you delete an Audio track in Pro Tools, any clips that were on the track will:

Remain in the Clip List