JCOM 361 Midterm Notes

What is the difference between Media Planning and Communication Planning?

Media planning was originally a simpler form of communication planning and has overtime, grown into communication planning. Media planning's goal was to connect communication to its intended audience. Communication planning is a bit more complex. It has shifted from advertising support to brand support, from reaching audiences to actually influencing audiences, from multimedia strategy to multichannel strategy, and moving from simple paid ads to impactful content. 

What are the 4 P's of the Marketing discipline?

2. Product, Price, Place, Promotion

Which of the Marketing 4 P's relates to the discipline of Brand Communication or Advertising?

Promotion

What is the difference between ATL, BTL and TTL communications?

Above The Line communication is paid media that is meant to reach and influence a large audience, and is typically a long term investment. Below The Line is current expenditure that is provided by companies without an ad agency, so advertisements like direct mail and telemarketing. Through The Line communication is an integrated strategy that is not limited to ATL and can focus on how the consumer engages with the product. 

Name the 3 ATL and 3 BTL communication vehicles?

ATL: TV, Radio, Print. BTL: Direct Marketing, Events, Sales Promotions

What is the difference between primacy and recency in advertising?

Primacy is the idea of being the first brand seen or heard before buying a product. Recency is being the last brand seen or heard of before buying a product.

What is the difference between Paid, Owned and Earned Media?

Paid Media is when a brand pays a media company to have access to their audience, like buying an Instagram Ad. Owned media is when the brand controls the channel, like having their own website. Earned media is when consumers become a channel for the brand, like influencers reviewing a product. 

Name 3 advantages of Paid Media.

3 advantages of Paid Media: able to place a message in front of a specific audience, ability to have a large audience see the message, and positive content association.

Name 3 advantages of Owned Media.

3 advantages of Owned Media: able to control the message, can respond to situations in a timely manner, and allows you to have a lasting message.

Name 2 advantages and 2 disadvantages of Earned Media.

2 advantages of Earned Media: it is "free" and it is more trustworthy to consumers.2 disadvantages of Earned Media: there are no guarantees because it relies on consumers loving the brand. Creating earned media may be "free" but it costs time and effort. Earned media actually does carry a cost.  Companies have to monitor consumer feedback, reviews, and comments on their social media pages.  Responses may be needed and that is a time and employee cost.

What factors can affect the cost of TV/Video advertising?

Size of the audience, time of day, and length of the spot can affect the cost of TV/video advertising.

What is the best TV daypart to reach evening viewers between 7-10pm.

Prime Time

What is the difference between Terrestrial and Streaming Radio?

Terrestrial radio is what you think of when you hear 'traditional radio.' It has specific channels catered to different topics like sports or business. Streaming radio lets the user create their own channel based on their own personalized interests. 

What are some advantages of radio advertising?

Advantages of radio advertising: able to target niche audiences, can take note of special sound cues, daily consistency for cheaper than other advertising methods. 

What is the meaning of a frequency discount in Print Media?

Frequency discounts refer to discounts based on the number of ad placements. 

In your opinion, why is digital advertising taking share away from traditional advertising spending and usage?

As our society continues to progress, technology continues to take over almost every aspect of our lives. Digital advertising is taking away from traditional advertising because traditional advertising tactics are no longer the best way to reach the target audience. The best way to reach people now is digitally. 

What is the difference between Business to Business (B2B) and Business to Consumer (B2C) Advertising?

Business to business advertising is more informational and less entertaining than advertising for consumers. It is meant to sell a product or a solution for a company. Business to Consumer advertising sells products directly to consumes. 


Why is it important to align your advertising and communication objectives with your Client's overall marketing objectives

 It's important to align your advertising and communication objectives with your client's overall marketing objectives so that the client's goals and visions are met. If the advertising's objectives don't align with the overall marketing objectives then the campaigns will not be successful in completing the client's goal and the resources and time used would go to waste.

What are some research questions you should ask yourself or discuss with the planning team prior to developing the communication and media objectives?

All objectives are based on research. The research questions should be based around the ideal audience and people to target. They should also include the best places and locations to market the product. RE #2, some objectives are based on client directives or past campaign learning and intuition. Using research is always a good way to back-up your recommendations.

What is a marketing or media funnel and why is it used in planning?

marketing media funnel is a way to describe the steps a consumer takes from first hearing about the product, to buying it, to potentially becoming a loyal consumer of the brand. It's important for brands to consider the marketing funnel so that they continue to engage consumers and don't lose touch throughout the process. 

What is an example of a Brand Marketing Objective?

An example of a brand marketing objective would be to raise consumer awareness by 25% among women in their early 20s in 12 months. 

What is an example of a communication and media objective that layers up to your marketing objective in question 4 above?

A communication objective would be to build brand awareness and recognition by creating a connection through humor with the brand. A media objective would be to reach 75% of our target audience, women in their early 20s, through TikTok by posting 3 times a month.

Why is it important to develop a Target Persona ("day in the life" of your primary target audience)?

Attaching a persona to the target audience helps narrow down the planning and strategy to successfully reach the specific audience you want to.

Write an example of a Target Persona.

Sally is 22, a senior in college, studying psychology. She works out a few times a week, is always hanging out with her friends, and enjoys finding new places to eat. She is extroverted and loves staying out late. She doesn't have too many classes her senior year, but is busy constantly working and saving money for post-grad. She's typically quick to follow trends and gets most of her information from TikTok.

What are brand and purchase influencers and why are they important to consider when building your target audience?

The purchase influencers are those in the household that are influencing the purchase, but are not necessarily the ones purchasing the item. The brand influencers can be the employees of the brand and their own pride about the brand. These are all important to consider when building the target audience because it changes which demographic you should be focusing on.

What does DMA stand for and how is it used in planning?

DMA stands for designated market area. DMAs help to decide where and when to advertise. DMAs are also where the TV and Radio signals reach.  so if you are planning to reach the PNW, you'd want to buy the DMAs that align with that geographic region, which is also where your TV and Radio ads will air.

What is the difference between a media strategy and a media tactic and how are they related to each other?

Media strategy is the overall plan, while media tactics are the smaller more specific details of the plan. Both of them interact when creating the strategy behind the plan and would not succesfully exist without the other. 

What is the difference between working media dollars and non-working media dollars?

Working media dollars are used to get the advertisement out and into the public. This can be spent on earned, owned, or paid media. It is spent on basically anything that can influence the public. Non-working media is the money spent on making the campaign possible. This does not have to do with getting the advertisement into the world, but with making sure the creative is possible.

What is the difference between a TRP and GRP and what do these acronyms stand for?

TRP stands for Target Rating Points which is the sum of ratings for a certain period of time. GRP stands for Gross Rating Points which measures the total exposure of an ad. TRP focuses on just the target audience while GRP is the sum of everyone's exposure. 

What does CPM stand for and what does it typically measure?

CPM stands for cost per thousand. CPM is used to compare one media vehicle to another, or to compare one medium to another. 

What does CPP stand for and what how is it used in media buying?

CPP stands for cost per point. CPP is used to compare costs among a variety of media.

How is digital advertising priced - Name four "Cost per" models and describe what each of them stand for.

CPC - cost per click

CPL - cost per lead

CPA - cost per action/acquisition 

CPO/CPT - cost per order or cost per transaction

What is the 70/20/10 rule in media buying?

The 70/20/10 rule states that a brand should plan to spend 70% of their budget on previously successful media platforms and mediums. 20% should be spent on mediums and vehicles that they've tested on a smaller scale and have evidence that they will have a positive effect on the brand's goal. And then spend the last 10% on test-and-learn investments.

Complete the following calculations:

What is the Planned CPM for the following numbers? Media Budget: $100,000 Planned Ad Impressions: 4 million CPM:

100,000/4,000,000 X 1,000 = 25

CPM = $25 

What are the delivered clicks for the following numbers?

Media Spend $10,000

Delivered CPC: $2.00

Delivered Clicks:

 10,000/2 = 5,000

Delivered clicks = 5,000

What is the Planned CPP for the following numbers?

Media Budget: $75,000

Planned GRPs: 1,000

CPP:

 75,000/1000 = 75

CPP = $75 

How many TRPs does it take to meet the following Reach and Frequency goals?

Reach: 50%

Frequency: 5X

TRPs:

50 x 5 = 250

TRP = 250 

What is the % agency planning commission of the below Gross Media budget?

Gross Media Budget: $500,000

Agency Planning Fees: $75,000

Commission:

75,000/500,000 x 100 = 15

Commission = 15%

1) CPM Calculation ($):

CPM=

Cost of media x (1,000 / Audience Delivered)

or

(Total campaign spend ÷ Number of impressions) × 1,000

Try this problem:

If you reached 5 million viewers for $20,000, then what is your effective CPM?

20,000/5,000,000 = 0.004

0.004 x 1,000

CPM = $4.00

 

2) Media Composition (%):

Calculation: The % population of target reached divided into total market population (or media universe) 

Try this problem:

A major magazine has a total of 200,000 subscribers, and the publication subscriber study found that there are 125,000 female subscribers and 75,000 male subscribers reading the magazine each month.  What is the average % Female composition and separately, the % male composition of that magazine?

Female: 125,000/200,000 = 0.625

 = 62.5% female

Male: 75,000/200,000 = 0.375

= 37.5% male

3) Click Through Rate (%):

Calculation: Clicks / Impressions

Your Facebook campaign delivered 100,000 impressions and 650 clicks in its first week.  What is your Click Through Rate averaging after its first week?

650/100,000 = 0.0065

CTR = 0.65% 

4) Cost per Click ($):

Calculation:  Cost of Media / Clicks delivered with media schedule

Try this problem:

The Display campaign you were running on your agency's programmatic platform has delivered 12,750 clicks at a working media cost of $45,000.   What is the net cost per click?

45,000/12,750 = $3.53 per click 

5) Agency Commission (%)

Calculation: Agency Fees / Gross media budget

Try this problem

Media Star Agency charges its clients a 15% commission on a client's gross budget for an upcoming media plan.  If your client has a gross media budget of $3.5 million, how much agency commission will your company make? 

0.15 x 3,500,000 = $525,000

6) Reach, Frequency and GRPs (#)

Calculation: Average Reach (Points) x Average Frequency = Gross Rating Points

One Reach Point = 1% of your target universe

(Example:  10 Reach (%) points x 6X average Frequency = 60 Gross Rating Points or GRPs)

Try this problem:

Your TV schedule is estimated to deliver an average 35% reach of all Women 18-49 Households an average of 5X over a 4-week period.  How many W18-49 GRPs is your schedule estimated to deliver over a 4 week period?

35 x 5 = 175 GRP

What is the difference between 1st, 2nd and 3rd party data?

First party data is information the brand owns about their customers through their own systems that collect data. Second party data is information brands gain through strategic relationships with other brands that have interests in the same target audiences. Third party data is information collected by outside providers that can sell the data. 

What is the difference between quantitative and qualitative data as it relates to media plan evaluation?

Quantitative data is numerical like statistics, facts, and figures. Qualitative data reflects attributes and characteristics like values, beliefs, motivations, and sentiments. 

What does GDPR stand for and what does it regulate?

GDPR stands for General Data Protection Regulation. GDPR provides consumers with more control over their personal information. Since its introduction, more countries have more closely regulated the collection of consumer data. 

What are some examples of measuring the quantitative performance of media?

Some examples of measuring the quantitative performance of media are reach, click through rate, impressions, SEM, pay per click, and ROI.

What are some examples of measuring the qualitative performance of media?

Some examples of measuring the qualitative performance of media are reviewing print placement and reproduction, examining if it had an impact on the intended audience, and AA&U.

What is test marketing and why should you do it?

Test marketing is the use of controlled tests in one or more geographic areas to gain information about the consumers and the competitors. You should use test marketing because it gives the team many options on how to fine tune the strategy. 

What is the difference between a test market and a control market?

Control markets serve as a baseline to compare against the test markets. 

Is Television an ATL, BTL or TTL media vehicle?

 ATL

Question 2

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Is Direct Mail and ATL, BTL, or TTL media vehicle?

 BTL 

Question 3

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True or False: 

The "4 P's of Marketing" include:  Product, Price, Place, and Promotion

True

Question 4

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Which of the 4 P's refers to Advertising?

 Promotion

Question 5

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Which of the below refers to when your ad appears early on in the purchase cycle  (when a consumer is researching a product purchase for example)?

 Primacy

Question 6

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What is the difference between Media Planning and Communication Planning?

Your Answer:

Media Planning was the original idea of getting a message to a target audience. It wasn't extremely impactful and was mainly focused on reaching the audience, rather than influencing. Communication Planning is what Media Planning has evolved into. Communication Planning doesn't just focus on getting the message to the audience, but making sure the audience is influenced through impactful and meaningful messages. 

Question 1

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You are going to purchase a Full Page 4/Color ad in Vogue magazine for your client.  Does this purchase fall under Paid Media, Owned Media or Earned Media?

 Paid Media

Question 2

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Is a Brand's Website a Paid Media, Earned Media or Owned Media Channel?

 Owned Media

Question 3

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Your brand is receiving a large influx of Social Media Likes and Engagements on their Instagram page.  Does this activity fall under Owned Media or Earned Media?

 Earned Media

Question 4

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Which form of radio is transmitted via radio waves from land-based towers?  This form of radio transmission has been around since the early 20th century and is what most people think of when they talk about "radio." It includes various types of content like music, news, talk shows, and other programming.

 Terrestrial Radio

Question 5

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Name 3 factors that can affect Digital media pricing?

Your Answer:

Three factors that can affect the price of Digital media pricing would be: the size of the audience, time of day, and length of the spot.

 Question 6

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In your opinion, why is digital advertising taking share away from traditional advertising spending and usage?

Your Answer:

Digital advertising is taking share away from traditional advertising spending and usage because technology continues to progress alongside society, which means it is now taking over almost every aspect of our lives. Traditional advertising tactics like billboards and radio ads are no longer the most successful ways to reach large target audiences. 

It is still possible to successfully use traditional media to reach large audiences. With Digital however, the targeting and relevancy can be much more effective leading to more efficiency as well.

Question 1

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Why is it important to align your advertising and communication objectives with your Client's overall marketing objectives?

Your Answer:

If the advertising and communication objectives do not align with the client's overall marketing objective then it will cause a lot of difficulty when trying to execute the client's goal. If the advertising and communication does not align with the overall marketing objective set by the client, the marketing objective will most likely not be hit.

 

Question 2

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What are some research questions you should ask yourself or discuss with the planning team prior to developing the communication and media objectives?

Your Answer:

Who is the ideal audience for this product?

Are there subgroups within the audience to focus on when targeting ads to certain areas?

Where should the product be marketed?

When is the best time to market this product?

Are there multiple locations, or just one location?

 

Question 3

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What is a marketing or communication funnel and why is it used in planning?

Helps guide the media strategy and budget allocation and selection of media tactics between media channels to align with the buyer journey and various levels of building awareness, consideration and activation or purchase. The Marketing/Media/Communication Funnel (all interchangeable terms) is going to change based on your client's OSTG - Objectives, Strategies, Targets and Goals. It is up to you as the Media Planner to identify how to tailor your media plan funnel to align with your client's objectives. At the top of the funnel, you are building awareness and knowledge of your brand (when consumers, or companies) first come in contact with your brand and become exposed to your ad message(s). At the middle level of the funnel, you are beginning to engage the consumer, or company, by generating consideration and ideally, intent to purchase or interact with your brand in some way. The goal is to enhance or inspire consideration of the brand and may include additional research on the part of the end consumer. At the bottom of the funnel, you are focusing on activities that will generate a specific desire action or actions. Such as purchasing a product, filling out their contact information (as a lead) and downloading a white paper, signing up for a newsletter or event, or even just engaging on the brand website (watching videos, visiting multiple pages of the site, etc). The end goal is based on what the client is looking to acheive with their communication plan. The more you are asking your consumer (or business) to do, in general, the harder it will be to achieve the desired action with advertising. Also the higher the competition for your brand's category, the more challenging it may be to get the desired action or purchase due to competing ad messages and brands.

 

Question 4

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Why is it important to develop a Target Persona ("day in the life" of your primary target audience)?

To ensure your media dollars are being used most efficiently and effectively, you want to fully understand and research who your target is (primary and secondary), what are their media habits (i.e. light TV viewers, heavy radio usage, etc), what types of programs, social media platforms or publications they use most often, what is their pattern of media usage throughout a typical day - e.g. morning radio driving to work, digital usage while at work, evening radio during drive home, tv and digital in the evening. (NOTE: Weekends can be different usage). You will want to fine tune some media to weekend activity (such as digital/programmatic and social media that has more flexibility for day of targeting). When you understand the target consumer (or business) you can then use that , along with other communication objectives to build your media funnel and assign budget towards the best media channels at each stage of the funnel.

 

Question 5

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Write an example of a Target Persona.

Pete is an avid snow boarder and mountain biker. He spends his time engaging in sports whenever he can. Pete works at an REI as a salesman, selling sporting equipment and helping customers get fitted for their sporting activities. Pete reads magazines both on and offline that are related to his passion of snow boarding and mountain biking. When Pete is not working or on the slopes / mountains engaging in his favorite sports, Pete is active in his social group both on social media websites like Tik Tok and SnapChat, posting his latest adventures and sharing the love of his sport(s) with his social circle. Pete is 22 years old and recently graduated in Marketing. Pete hopes to become a Sales Manager at a major Sporting good retailer one day. For now he is getting his sales experience and enjoying helping prospective and avid sporting enthusiasts learn about the sport and get the necessary equipment and training . One thing Pete loves about his current job at REI is that he is permitted to test the equipment on days off so he can be more versed in selling to his customers. Pete is a heavy digital media user and light TV viewer and occassional reader of Printed magazines. Pete loves to develop and post videos and share with enthusiasts on his social channels. Based on that description, which media would you think would be best to reach Pete?

 

Question 6

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What does DMA stand for and how is it used in planning?

Designated Market Area - used to identify your target geography. Radio and TV stations use DMA's to identify geographical boundaries for their broadcast signals. DMA is also used by Nielsen to generate TV ratings which are the basis of purchasing broadcast TV (GRPs, or gross rating points, aligned with a specific geography). DMAs are not state-specific. For example some DMAs in Oregon include cities in Idaho.

Question 1

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What is the difference between GRPs, TRPs and how are they related to Reach and Frequence?

GRPs are Gross Rating Points

TRPs are Target Rating Points

GRPs = Reach (points) x Frequency

GRPS do apply a percentage but to the total universe (not the target demographic or time period)

 

Question 2

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Calculating TV Ratings

TV Station: KAAA

TVHH Sets on: 12,000

Total Target Universe: 250,000

How many Rating Points does this represent?

Your Answer:

12,000/250,000 = 0.048

0.048 x 100 = 4.8 

Rating Points = 4.8

Rating Points: 4.8 

Calculation: (12,000/250,000) x 100 = 4.8

 

Question 3

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What is Media Attribution, what does it measure and specifically what is the difference between Last Click Attribution and Multi-touch Attribution?

Media Attribution is a model used to measure the impact and influence of specific media channels on delivering a desired action or conversion.

Last Click Attribution gives credit to the last action in a user's journey throughout your campaign (funnel) whereas Multi-Touch attribution assigns a specific value to various points in the journey, thereby giving credit to other media that occur earlier in the communication process.

 

Question 4

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What does CPP stand for and what how is it used in media buying?

Cost per Point - Used to purchase broadcast media - cost per rating point (1 rating point = 1% of your target population, or TRP). Helps to define the cost per unit in broadcast media buying against Nielsen rating points which measure the TV viewership (or Arbitron for Radio listenership) against your target demographic and geography.

Question 5

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What are three ways to evaluate different digital publications for selection on a media plan?

Some ways to evaluate digital publications for selection on a media plan include:

  • Alignment with the target audience (audience composition and coverage, for instance)

  • Cost efficiency 

  • Content relevancy

  • Language alignment

  • Inventory availability for each publication 

Question 6

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What are the benefits of using an omnichannel approach in media planning?

When a brand uses a truly ominchannel approach they choose a combination of vehicles and align messaging across them all in a carefully choreographed manner.  Sometimes this is used to reach a prospective buyer in various stages of their buyer journey and other times it's to ensure you are getting through them and breaking through the clutter by hitting them with ads multiple times throughout the day.  This can be difficult when media budgets are tight but when you can achieve this it's similar to conducting an orchestra.

Question 1

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What is the Planned CPM for the following numbers?

 

Media Budget: $2,500,000

Planned Ad Impressions:  18 million

CPM: ?

 

$138.89

Question 2

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What are the delivered clicks for the following numbers?

 

Media Spend $10,000

Delivered CPC: $2.00

Delivered Clicks: ?

5000

Question 3

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What is the Planned CPP (Cost per Rating Point) for the following numbers?

 

Media Budget: $75,000

Planned GRPs: 1,000

CPP: ?

 

$75

Question 4

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How many TRPs does it take to meet the following Reach and Frequency goals?

 

Target Reach: 50%

Frequency: 5X

TRPs: ?

 

250 

Question 5

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What is the % agency planning commission of the below Gross Media budget?

 

Gross Media Budget: $500,000

Agency Planning Fees: $75,000

Agency Commission: ?

 

15%

 

Question 6

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Why is it important to understand media math when building a communication plan?

Your Answer:

It's extremely important to understand media math when building a communication plan because it helps you decide money allocation and what paths or decisions are best to make based on budget and pricing. This ensures that the communication plan is the most efficient plan for the brand.

So that you are able to calculate how many ad units your brand or client will expect to receive with their media spend. It helps you be more accountable for your media plan and performance expectations.