AvaTrade Promo Code 206997: Comparing Two Quotes Side by Side
AvaTrade promo code 206997 gives a 20% discount on trading fees, and it only takes effect if the code is entered during registration. The knowledge available for this article does not give a cash figure, a sample quote or a fee schedule, so the comparison below is a method for checking your own numbers rather than a statement of what you will save.
What the code does and does not change
AvaTrade's pricing is mostly built into the spread rather than charged as a separate per-trade commission. The discount is described as applying to trading costs, and those costs are mostly embedded in the spread. Spread-only pricing means the cost you see on a quote is the spread itself, while overnight swap fees and inactivity fees can apply on top.
The knowledge does not state how the 20% is shown on screen, so do not assume a separate line will appear. The discount is also tied to entry, not to a price you can switch on later.
Setting up the comparison
To compare fairly, you need two sets of figures for the same market and the same trade size. The first set should come from a demo account, which the knowledge describes as available before going live. The second set should come from your live account after you have funded it. Note the instrument, the time of day, the trade size and the spread quoted at that moment.
Record the spread for one instrument you intend to trade, at a fixed time.
Repeat the reading at the same time on another day to see how much it moves.
Note whether the account was opened with the code entered, since the code cannot reliably be added later.
Because the knowledge notes that articles disagree on whether spreads are fixed, variable or both depending on market, your readings may show movement rather than a flat number. Treat each reading as a snapshot.
Working out what the discount is worth
The knowledge gives no baseline spread, so no figure can be calculated for you here. If you have your own spread readings, the logic is simple: the discount is a percentage of trading costs, so it can only be applied to the costs you actually pay. Costs outside the spread, such as overnight swap fees or inactivity fees, are not clearly covered by the stated 20% and should be tracked separately.
The knowledge also says the exact inactivity fee amount and dormancy period are not stated. That means you cannot build a full cost estimate from the offer alone.
Limits that affect the comparison
Several conditions decide whether your live account carries the discount at all. Promotion availability depends on which AvaTrade entity onboards you, based on your country of residence. Some regulators restrict or prohibit trading incentives for retail clients. Duplicate accounts tend to get closed, so a second registration is a risk rather than a way to test the offer twice.
The minimum deposit for live accounts is $100 or currency equivalent. Region-specific withdrawal and eligibility conditions are said to sit in the promotions terms, which were not included in the knowledge provided.
Checking your entry before you fund
Before you deposit, confirm that the code was recorded. The knowledge says the linked partner code is usually displayed in the account profile or account summary, and that an account manager can be contacted through the platform's contact panel to confirm code registration. Whether an account manager can apply a code after registration is not confirmed, so do not rely on that route.
If the code is not shown, you have a clear reason to pause before funding and to ask the broker directly. Keep a dated record of what you saw and what you were told. Once your readings are logged and the code is confirmed, you have a comparison you can actually use.